CalDigit TS4 Thunderbolt Station
Why it is here: The subject of this question. Its recorded external power supply, 18 ports and up to 98 W of laptop charging are the values the answer is built on.
Protocol: Thunderbolt 4
Answer
The CalDigit TS4 records an external power supply as its power source and up to 98 W of laptop charging. The records do not state what ships in the box.
A Thunderbolt 4 dock with a large port selection, high-wattage laptop charging and support for multiple displays.
Full product researchYes. The recorded power source for the CalDigit TS4 is an external power supply, so the dock is not bus powered and needs a power source of its own. Its recorded laptop charging is up to 98 W, which is the figure that makes the external supply necessary rather than optional.
The TS4's recorded specifications are a protocol of Thunderbolt 4, a port count of 18, laptop charging of up to 98 W, Ethernet of 2.5 GbE, and an external power supply as the power source. Its recorded features are wired Ethernet, multiple display support and being a powered dock.
The practical consequence of those values is fixed. A powered dock with 18 ports and high wattage laptop charging is a desk fixture. It needs a socket, and the laptop connected to it is charged by the dock rather than by the laptop's own charger.
For comparison within our category, the Anker 555 is recorded as bus powered, with a recorded pass through of up to 85 W of input and laptop charging wattage that depends on hub draw. That is a different arrangement: the laptop charges through the hub, and the hub takes its power from the laptop.
The record does not state the wattage of the power supply itself, whether a supply ships in the box, or whether the supply is sold separately in some regions. It does not state what happens to laptop charging if the dock is connected without the supply, because that behaviour is not part of the record. It also does not record a price, and the difference between a powered dock and a bus powered hub is one of hardware and use rather than a figure on a shared scale.
Every value here was read from the manufacturer's own domain and has not been checked against a specific product page. It is the documented specification, not a confirmed result from our own use.
Products
Why it is here: The subject of this question. Its recorded external power supply, 18 ports and up to 98 W of laptop charging are the values the answer is built on.
Protocol: Thunderbolt 4
Trade-offs
Notes
Verification state
Every value on this page was read from the manufacturer's own domain and has not been checked against a specific product page. It is the documented specification, not a confirmed result from our own use.FAQ
No. The recorded power source is an external power supply, and being a powered dock appears in the recorded feature list.
Source:CalDigit official site
The recorded laptop charging figure is up to 98 W. That is the wattage the laptop receives, not the input rating of the power supply.
Source:CalDigit official site
Its recorded protocol is Thunderbolt 4, so the dock connects over that protocol. The record does not list specific laptop models.
Source:CalDigit official site
Our records do not say. The external power supply is recorded as the power source, but what ships in the box is not documented in the data we hold.
Source:CalDigit official site
Keep researching
The recorded alternative to the CalDigit TS4 is the Anker 555, a bus powered 8 in 1 USB-C hub with 1 GbE and up to 85 W of power pass through that.
The CalDigit TS4 Thunderbolt Station is a powered Thunderbolt 4 dock with 18 ports, up to 98 W of laptop charging and 2.5 GbE Ethernet.